Kids Say The Darndest Things!

To live in a family where you’re basically surrounded by men or little men for that matter, other than your mother is just about the same as living in a household full of monkeys. You definitely get to hear a lot of shoutings/screamings sometimes by yours truly and sometimes by my mother trying to get them off from jumping on the couch or rolling plasticine on the floor or taking their eyes off from being glued to cartoons and get dressed for agama school or their gymnastic acts and the like. It’s a daily routine thingy. Luckily for me, I’m not around to meddle or witness their little acts and mischieves everyday unless I’m back for the weekend or on holidays, which really is the case right now.

Let me tell you, I have 4 little brothers respectively of the ages 19, 12, 8 and 7. The monkeys I’m talking about are the 2 young ones whom I’m extremely fond of. The 12-year-old bro is like the big bro to the big bro. Get what I’m saying? And the 19 year-old bro is another case altogether. My 8 year-old bro is the type who physically gets things done. More like byk kerja punya budak. Ada aje benda nak kosel. My youngest bro on the other hand is the verbal type, your next-door makcik who talks about nothing to everything. A splendid pair don’t you think? Yea I think so too. If they belonged to some agency, one would do all the talking and the other would get all the things done, pronto! But when they’re not around, it’s like something huuuugee is missing in the house… especially the pokpek-pokpek one.

Back when my 8 year-old bro Safuan was in Std 1, he had a serious case of hyperness at school. He sat up front so the teacher could constantly supervise him. He walked around class a lot jumping from one place to another. Come Report Card Day, when my mom came, the teacher shamelessly said, “Bila saya tengok budak nih terlompat-lompat sana sini, saya pikir, anak sapeeeelaaa tak reti duk diam nih.” Haha, well of course that’s not much of a surprise to any of us but despite all that, he does well in exams. More than a 90% average. Budak-budak sekarang pandai-pandai ke aku dulu yang bodoh? Well now he’s in Std 2 and he came home one day and told my mom proudly, “Ma, Safuan dah pandai sekarang! Cikgu dah suruh Safuan duduk belakang.” I guess it’s a common notation that problematic kids or less-smart kids sit in front. It was funny then, kids just say the darndest things. My youngest bro, Azri pulak can be a batu api sometimes. The kind you feel like nak ganyang-ganyang mulut dia dengan cili, memang tak padan dengan kecik.

Example
Safuan: Kaklong yang makan Safuan punya fries eh?
Me : Mana ada kaklong makan. (I really didn’t.)

And all of a sudden, this little ketot kid comes along and says…

Azri : Ye Safuan(with a smug look)! Kaklong yang makan. Aji(he calls himself that) nampak kaklong yang makan(in the most irritating of tones)!

Safuan is the lurus type, very straight(not THAT straight) while Azri on the contrary is the manipulative type. On my mom’s 46th birthday recently, he purposely twisted the figures and instead wished my mom, “Happy 64th Birthday”. Hahah. And the other day… my mom, he and I were sitting on the front porch and he suddenly said, “Ma, nanti bila kaklong kahwin(?!?*?), mak jadi nenek.” And he proceeded with singing… “Nenek nenek si bongkok tiga….” Hahahah. Coming from a lil kid who’s barely even 7.

But heck… without them, life wouldn’t be as entertaining as it is now. They’re my sunshine after a heavy pouring rain…


Caught in the act after making a ‘stew’
from the remains of sharpening coloured pencils
thus causing the sink to clog.

Our siblings push buttons that cast us in roles we felt sure we had let go of long ago – the baby, the peacekeeper, the caretaker, the avoider…. It doesn’t seem to matter how much time has elapsed or how far we’ve traveled. –Jane Mersky Leder

Leave a Reply

