Al-Fatihah

Yesterday after coming home to a house which was in total disaster(read:renovation) I was surprised by the news my bro had brought to me. My little niece Khadijah(my cousin’s daughter) aged 3 if I recall properly, passed away peacefully last Friday afternoon after suffering from cancer. The last time I saw her was during my cousin’s wedding and she was one of the purple flowergirls that day. Even with all the hair loss from chemo, she had looked so pretty and everyone wanted to take pictures of her. I couldn’t find her picture to put up here but needless to say, she was an angel that shone upon everyone. With people she knew, mostly her uncles and aunts, she’d give a big “Hi!” and wave to that particular person which was always, always responded with the same enthusiasm she bestowed. I remember writing an entry of her last year when I went to visit her. And here I am writing about her again, except this time, she’s no longer breathing in this world. Innalillahi wainna ilaihi raji’un. From Allah we come and unto Him we shall return.

Point to ponder: The only difference with us and the little Khadijah is that she is guaranteed of Heaven, but us? Wallahua’lam missawab.

Today, I brought 3 of my brothers to watch Shrek 2. An extremely sweet and witty movie in my opinion. Absolutely worth the watch despite the outrageously long queue you’d have to endure. Do book the tickets ahead if you’re planning to watch it anytime soon or else you’d end up getting sucky seats like I did. Or perhaps, wait a week or two and catch it when the Shrek 2 fever has died down.

I’ve been having problems sleeping the past few weeks. It’s a bit unusual coz I’m normally among the first to doze off. But when I finally do drift to sleep, I tend to wake up several times in the middle of the night for apparently no reason. It’s just so peculiar. I have to get myself to be around with people more to avoid being alone. Yeah, I do and think the weirdest things when I’m alone and when it gets too deep, that’s when it really gets to me. I have to stop all this nonsense *slaps head*

And We most certainly try you with somewhat of fear and hunger and loss of property and lives and fruit; and give good news to the patient, who, when a misfortune befalls them, say: Surely we are God’s and to Him we shall surely return. Those are they on whom are blessings and mercy from their Lord, and those are the followers of the right course.(2:155-157)

Leave a Reply

