Of Imperfections…

I have a flat nose. When I was a kid, my dad used to say I have a nose of a stingray’s(ikan pari for the uninitiated). Not that a stingray has any nose(or do they? oh ditch that!) but you know what I’m saying. My dad just loved making that comparison and annoying the hell out of me. I’d get into fits coz I just hated my nose being compared to a stingray’s even though I didn’t know what a stingray was back then. But I knew it was something unpleasant, the way my dad teased about it and how he’d laugh hard over it. Sometimes he’d get my mom to join along with the game as well and that made me even more furious. The thing is, I’m the only one in my family with a flat nose. Nose in MY context here is not the part where your nostrils are. But the sorta-like arching bit before that, the bridge of one’s nose. Yes, that’s what I do NOT have. Well my nose now isn’t as bad as when I was a kid but yea it’s obvious if you’re observant, hehe. Oooh! And my dad doesn’t bug me about it anymore.


My kiddy nose… see the flat-ness?


Sokay, at least I have a nose, don’t I?

So to conclude, if I’m running late and you happen to be waiting for me… don’t say, “Mana naz ni? Tak nampak pun batang hidung dia.” Coz I don’t have much of a batang hidung for you to see. Haha.

It matters more what’s in a woman’s face than what’s on it. –Claudette Colbert, quoted in Kindling the Spirit by Lois P. Frankel

Leave a Reply

