My Precious

I was reading Dina Zaman’s entry and I couldn’t help but totally agree with her.

You see, I’m one of those people who is extremely particular about books. Whenever I decide to buy a a certain book, the book I choose has to be parfait. Ask Zuren, ask Eryl(now Ilmi has joined the club). The very few people who share my sentiment and have had the ‘priviledge’ of seeing me at my ‘best’. I don’t tolerate teared edges, bent corners and in fact not even a crease. If let’s say there is only one or two of the book I want left, and the condition is not up to my standards, I’d rather not buy it. Yes, that is fussy me.

Secondly, about people borrowing my books. Now let me tell you, my books are always in perfect condition(minus worn out text books)… before I start lending them off. And if they are not before I lend them to you, it probably means someone irresponsible has lent them from me before you(my brother for instance). Just in case you are wondering, no, I don’t mind people borrowing my books, not at all. But at least share my sentiment and return it to me looking like the way it was. I detest dogeared pages and I loathe bent corners. If you can’t remember your pages, get a bookmark! And NO, it is NOT okay to lend MY books to YOUR friends. That’s where I tend to never see my book again or I get it returned to me in a state of belacan OR end up seeing it a year later.

A book is a priced possession, for me at least. You don’t borrow someone’s DVD player and later pass it on to your friends do you? If you do, you probably don’t appreciate the sentimental value of your things, let alone ones of others. What is not yours you take care of. End of story.

Thirdly, it is NOT okay for you to borrow my book, lose it and willingly offer to replace it with a new one or with one you already own. I’ve come across people like these and although I don’t say it to your face, it just really pisses me off. Most books, I bought on my own, and regardless of how and where I got it, every single one of them is as precious to me as your big-fat-Tiffany-diamond-ring is to you. Not everything is replaceable and even if it is, that special, magical touch just no longer exists.

Books don’t only tell its story… it tells more stories than you can ever imagine. You would know if you are the rightful owner.

A book is the only place in which you can examine a fragile thought without breaking it, or explore an explosive idea without fear it will go off in your face. It is one of the few havens remaining where a man’s mind can get both provocation and privacy. –Edward P. Morgan

Leave a Reply

