Don’t Sleep & Drive

I have always wondered how one could possibly fall asleep while driving… until I came face to face with the situation while driving to hometown two days prior to Raya celebrations. As usual, it’d be me on the wheel with two of my brothers as my faithful passengers. The other two had tagged along with my parents in the van.

The journey was so smooth sailing, with absolutely no traffic congestions that I kept stepping on the gas pedal at a constant pace of a slightly higher speed than the actual speed limit. And I guess, the serenity of the situation had engulfed me all too well causing me to unconsciously have my eyes shut for about a fraction of a second(!) when I felt the car swerve a little off track.

In a snap almost automatically, I was back to my senses, eyes staring straight at the road ahead, adrenalines pumping at an unusual rate and I had somehow lost any sleepy nerve I had in me. Too shocked to mutter a word!

The experience was utterly overwhelming. I mean… had I dozed off a lil longer… goodness, I was carrying two other lives with me!!!

I guess God still loves me.

I continued driving, soberly this time until I reached my desired destination while my young ones were fast asleep, not a single clue of what had just happened.

The one thing that unites all human beings, regardless of age, gender, religion, economic status or ethnic background, is that, deep down inside, we ALL believe that we are above average drivers. –Dave Barry, “Things That It Took Me 50 Years to Learn”

Leave a Reply

