Tipping

Do you leave tips? I was invited for lunch and a movie from a friend the other day who recently returned from her short stint abroad for the holidays. We chatted endlessly catching up with each other’s current endeavours and even discussed of future plans (really!) while enjoying a hearty meal. With just about an hour before our movie started, we had had just enough time after all that.

When the bill came, I was utterly surprised to see that she extended a generous amount of tips that I stupidly asked why the extra money. Now call me a cheapskate but I AM after all still a student but is it really necessary to tip after all those taxes accounted to you? If so, how much do you tip? (Mind you, those extra 30 cents don’t count!)

Until I become a practicing engineer and earn enough to proudly announce “Keep the change”, I guess I’ll just be my old cheapskate self.

When there’s a single thief, it’s robbery. When there are a thousand thieves, it’s taxation. –Vanya Cohen

Leave a Reply

