Of Kompangs & Wedding Rings

It never dawned on me that I would be attending a friend’s wedding anytime soon. Especially coming from this friend. This was the friend who made my transition of schools at the young age of 10, a pleasant one. The one I continuously bugged when I still went about without a Math textbook. The one who sat next to me and helped me go through the awfully horrendous(then) system I still hadn’t manage to absorb. She was a person all teachers knew and every one of us looked up to.

She was the headgirl, the sportswoman, the elocutioner, the captain of almost every sports team available, a straight-A student, a definite all-rounder. Excellent at practically every single thing she ventured. She was also the religious one, who could recite surahs from the Quran beautifully. I think if I were to go back to my old Sekolah Agama where we were both prefects more than 10 years ago and ask a familiar looking ustaz/ustazah about her, I’m sure her name would ring many bells.

Now that she’s blissfully married, I look at myself into comparison with her and I realize that this future law graduate has achieved so much in her short life. She might not have a scroll to prove it just yet but we all know she’ll be a fantastic lawyer. She’s been a step ahead of every one of us all this while, we just took so long to realize we’ve been lagging behind. I mean really, if I were a guy, I’d marry her too.

Congratulations Khairina & Fauzan… here’s to a lifetime of blessed happiness.

Fauzan and Khairina on their wedding day.

When you realize you want to spend the rest of your life with somebody, you want the rest of your life to start as soon as possible. –From the movie ‘When Harry Met Sally’

Leave a Reply

