The Earth Shook Beneath My Feet!

The table where I sat quivered. I knew for sure that it wasn’t my phone vibrating. I held onto the table with both hands, trying to get it to stay still. It persisted shaking, ever so slightly yet it never dawned on me that an earthquake had just occurred. I didn’t take heed of what had just happened. I was alone and I seriously thought some hantu was playing tricks on me until later when a YM message popped up with the most inevitable news.

An earthquake measuring 8.7 on the scale had just struck Northern Sumatra causing quite a number of people experiencing the disturbance, even waking some up from their sleep(some of course slept throught it). Those staying in highrise buildings felt it more. It caused quite a hubbub here where students mostly gathered outside while voices blaring through halers from firemen were heard.

It is reported that 2000 people have died from collapsed buildings in Sumatra and still counting. It has only been 3 months eversince the 26th December tragedy and I’m shaken by the thought of how both destructions are linked with Christmas and Easter.

When the earth is convulsed with its quaking
and the earth then disgorges its charges
and man asks, “What is wrong with it?”
On that Day it will impart all its news because your Lord has inspired it.
That Day people will emerge segregated to see the results of their actions.
Whoever does an atom’s weight of good will see it.
Whoever does an atom’s weight of evil will see it.
(Surah az-Zalzala: 1-8)

Leave a Reply

