Walking Down the Aisle… Hand in Hand

My cousin Ummi recently got married last weekend. It was a glorious wedding ceremony that not only became a medium for two people tying the knot but also a stage that united families, relatives and friends.

If you are familiar with weddings by orang Melaka, you should very well know how festive it can get. The akad nikah session was held on Friday night and since I reached there at about 8.30pm, I unfortunately missed all the ‘tukar-tukar baju’ session which had started as early as 5.30pm. Trust me, there were no less than 10 persalinan.

My dad had reached Melaka earlier the previous day, while I drove the following day(my brothers had exams going on) with the rest of my family with me. Silly me had forgotten to post my camera along with him for early snaps.

Then of couse, there is the legendary bunga api kelapa and bunga api buluh that goes up to about 20-30 feet in the air. For a while, the newlyweds are forgotten as everyone is so engrossed with the breathtaking fireworks on display.

The ‘Khatam Al-Quran’ session was held on Saturday morning before more wedding attire parading(they go all out, I swear!). Then finally, berarak at about 1.30pm followed by bersanding before the newlyweds bersantap.

The wedding ceremony by the groom’s family was held on Sunday.

Image hosted by Photobucket.com

Click on image for more pictures.

A successful marriage requires falling in love many times, always with the same person. –Mignon McLaughlin, The Second Neurotic’s Notebook, 1966

Leave a Reply

