Shrooms

I drove home from the airport with so many things running through my mind. The things we did, the spots we strolled along, the places we ate, the laughter we shared… came rushing back like rolling waves in my head. His scent still lingered from where he sat earlier. His plane hadn’t even taken off yet a hollow feeling had already begun to form inside me and I was missing him terribly because a part of me knew I wouldn’t be seeing him until next summer.

It’s unbelievable how 24 hours ago he was right next to me, sipping blissfully on our fruit juice, him nibbling on a cookie while I plunged into my sandwich; reading the newspaper together. Him teasing me ever so often while I made my faces… yet now, 24 hours later he’s halfway across the globe, nowhere near physical reach where duty calls.

And I’m left with the staggering sweet memories he left behind…

“I love that you get cold when it’s 71 degrees out. I love that it takes you an hour and a half to order a sandwich. I love that you get a little crinkle above your nose when you’re looking at me like I’m nuts. I love that after I spend the day with you, I can still smell your perfume on my clothes. And I love that you are the last person I want to talk to before I go to sleep at night. And it’s not because I’m lonely, and it’s not because it’s New Year’s Eve. I came here tonight because when you realize you want to spend the rest of your life with somebody, you want the rest of your life to start as soon as possible.” — From the movie, ‘When Harry Met Sally’

Leave a Reply

